There are four simple steps that professionals must follow in order to successfully implement Marazon. These
are PLAN, ENVIRONMENT, ASSESSMENT, and PARTNERSHIP. By following these four steps, Marazon
practitioners learn how to keep the child at the center of their practice as they become skilled in assessing,
supporting, and celebrating children’s interests and four steps:

1. Assessment
Assessment in Marazon is authentic in nature, meaning that it is child-based and portfolio-driven, rather than
focused on teacher-directed assignments and standardized tests. Perhaps more importantly, it means that
what is assessed is used as a rationale for weekly plans and daily practices that support children’s emerging
needs and interests

2. Plan
On a weekly basis, a teacher implementing the Marazon Approach selects six target children per week who
will help guide and inform the planning process across the six domains for an entire week. Once six children’s
interests (curriculum/subject area) and needs (developmental domains) are identified, the teacher then writes
the domain.

3. Environment
The intent of the environment in the Marazon Approach is to bring the content of child development to the
forefront of the teacher’s day-to-day practice. This is done through posting six weekly “development” goals in
and around the classroom (one for each of the six domains). The finishing touch in the environment is the
“intentionality” of the teacher who interacts and communicates with children in ways that support both the
development and the curriculum goals that were planned.

4. Partnership
The final step in the Marazon Approach is to promote an authentic connection between teachers and parents.
This is accomplished through formal and informal conferences that celebrate the giftedness of the child
through an exchange of information about the child’s curriculum and development achievements. It is also
accomplished by inviting families to share information about their children that can then be used in designing
future classrooms that support children’s true interests (curriculum) and developmental needs across the six
The System At Work
The Focus of The Marazon Approach
The Steps of The Marazon Approach
The Marazon System -- A Truly Child-Centered Approach

Marazon Systems are developmentally appropriate planning and assessment systems that can be used in a
variety of educational and home settings. The Systems provide parents and professionals with just the right
tools to support and challenge children's growth, development and learning in developmentally appropriate
environments and using methods that meet the needs of diverse learners. Marazon Systems help teachers and
parents focus on describing and celebrating children's assets as opposed to traditional approaches to educating
children which attempt to "fix” their perceived deficits.

The Systems invite professionals and parents to learn about children's interests and developmental
characteristics and then use the everyday curriculum (routines, activities, experiences, materials, and
environment) of the home, school, and community to support their growth and learning based upon their
interests and developmental needs.

The role of modeling (Bandura, 1977), the impact of multiple intelligences (Gardner, 1999), the construction of
knowledge (Piaget, 1965), and impact of society on self-concept development (Erikson, 1993) are imbedded in
The Marazon System because they are viewed as critical elements in the growth and learning process of each

In the Marazon Approach, six domains of development help guide the decision-making process and serve as a
template for meeting the individual and unique needs and interests of children and adults.  

The Affective domain supports children in personal identity, emotional development, psychological strengths
and virtues (self-concept development), and values and ethical competencies. Social focuses on helping children
initiate and maintain relationships, respond appropriately to others, and interact with others during leisure and
play. The Creative domain highlights Torrence's eight indicators of creativity in children.  The Language
domain is focused on  listening, speaking, reading and writing from a "developmental" perspective.  The
Cognitive domain is based upon the theoretical stages of Piaget as well as information processing
considerations.  Finally, the Physical domain focuses on small and large motor development, sensory motor and
kinesthetic development.
MAPS for life
4210 NW 27th Lane
Cape Coral, Florida  33993

Marazon Systems                      Catholic Books  & Ministries             Marazon Vacation Rentals